Attractions

stars.png

Husmann House

The historic home of George Husmann was originally built in 1847 by Charles Teubner. The home is an excellent but unique example of the grand residences built by the well-to-do during the early settlement period. The house is in the Greek Revival style with five symmetrical bays on the front. The impressive neoclassic style facade faces north, overlooking the Missouri River and is situated at the base of an imposing bluff to the west. A ginkgo tree on the east side of the house was planted by George Husmann near the time of the house's construction and is believed to be the largest, and possibly the oldest, in North America.

 

The Teubner-Husmann House is a historic building which served as the estate home and business office for prominent leaders in Hermann since 1847.  Carl “Charles” Teubner, an early pioneer in Hermann viticulture arrived in Hermann in 1847 with cuttings of vines and trees, and began planting a vineyard and tree farm on this land.  Upon his death the grand residence and operation of the successful nursery business (known as the Teubner Plantation) was placed in the hands of  Teubner’s brother-in-law, George Husmann.

It then served as the headquarters of Hermann Nurseries which was operated by George Husmann, often referred to as the father of Missouri wine industry, and by Charles Manwaring, a Civil War hero, killed by Confederates at the Hermann Wharf in May of 1864. 

image486677
image486678
image486687
image486686

Master Distiller's Homestead & Office

The Master Distiller's Homestead consists of a dog trot style log cabin, aging cellars,spring house, smoke house, barn and distillery. Originally this part of the farm was the home of the Rasche family, who moved to the Hermann area between 1839 and 1842. The original house was destroyed by fire in the mid 1900's. However, a log house matching the age and footprint of the foundation was found near Hermann and was dismantled, moved and reconstructed here. The spring house, smoke house and barn are original to the farm and have been restored to their original state. The hillside cellar has been restored and houses Hermann Farm's Black Shire Distillery.

Mercantile

The old time Mercantile is the first stop on your journey into the past. This building houses the Farm's Guest Services and is where visitors can get tour information and buy tour tickets. It’s also a great place to pick up souvenirs of your trip to Hermann Farm.

Locally produced products: Honey, Candy, Fudge, Old fashioned Nut Brittle, Rock candy on a stick, Lotions and soaps, Stained glass, Books, Children’s toys, Clothing, Hermann Farm T-Shirts, Quilts, Simple farm girl “handmades”

image486682
image486688
image486683

Schuetzenhalle

The Germans who settled in Hermann brought with them a tradition of target shooting, but it was not till 1872 that they organized a society under the name Hermann Scharf-Schuetzen Verein (Hermann Sharpshooter Society). They held festivals, usually in September, listing the winners of various categories in the local paper.

The Sharpshooter Society was active in the 1930’s. Our Hermann Farm Schuetzenhalle complete with a display of early firearms and hand painted award targets collected in Germany, is a favorite stop for visitors.

Tradesmen Barn

The old Tradesmen Barn is filled with displays of businesses that would have existed in the mid-1800s in Hermann, Missouri.

Upper
The upper floor is the Broom Makers shop with a collection of broom making equipment originally from Arrow Rock, MO. 

Lower
The Dietzel Tin Smith shop and tools are downstairs and are all original to Hermann and were used by A.E Dietzel in the early 1900s. Dietzel wore many hats, that of Sheriff, Tinner and Grocer.  
The Woodwright's Shop is on the lower level and tools of the trade displayed in this shop include templates for making wagon wheels as well as levels, planes, hammers, drills, and chisels.  

image486685
image486684

Trading Post

Hermann Farm’s 1790’s Trading Post is a step back in time. A modest establishment, the trading post was a busy place along the Missouri River for trappers as well as Indians who frequented the place for barter or food and drink. Indians in this area were Sauk, Fox and Osage. The proprietor of the original 1790s Trading Post was Polly Phillips.  Step inside and see Hudson Bay blankets, old pelts from skunk to otter, traps, lanterns, brooms, kegs of sprits, and all manner of needful items for travelers in the late 1700s. 

TOP 
arrow - Copy.png